David “Howie-U” Olivares

4010 Regal Rose - San Antonio, Texas 78259

Home PH: 210-490-9578 Cell: 210-861-2230




June 6, 2008



TSA Breakfast Meeting

Installation of New Officers for The Texas Shrine Clown Association



The Texas Shrine Clown Association held it’s annual breakfast and business meeting at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel at 205 East Houston Street San Antonio, Texas 78205 on Friday             June 6, 2008.


The Alzafar Nemnuf Clowns were the host clown unit.


President David “Howie-U” Olivares welcomed everyone to San Antonio, Texas for our annual breakfast and installation of new officers for the ensuing year 2008-2009.


First Vice President Don “Lil-Bit” Henson led the assembly in the Pledge of allegiance to the USA and Texas Flags.  T.S.C.A. Chaplain Al “Freckles” Gay gave the invocation.


Following the invocation, the meeting was called to refreshment so everyone could enjoy a delightful buffet breakfast, and have a few minutes to socialize.


At 8:10 AM President David “Howie-U” Olivares called the business meeting to order.


President Olivares introduced the Officers and Guest seated at the head table.


First Vice President Don “Lil-Bit” Henson and his lady Stacy, Second Vice President Sam “Lucky” Taylor, Parliamentarian Eddie “Fireplug” Cox and his lady Nina, Secretary / Treasurer Bob “Checkers” Mantle and his lady Priscilla, Chaplain Al “Freckles” Gray and his lady Elenita,  newly elected 2nd Vice President Bobby “Ice Bucket” Miller and his Terri.  And last but not lease the First Lady of David “Howie-U” Olivares lady Annette.


President David Olivares recognized The 2008 International Shrine Clown President in attendance Bill “10 Can” London and his Lady Mary. 


Following the introduction of the head table President Olivares requested Secretary Bob “Checkers’ Mantle to conduct a roll call of units.


During roll call each unit President was given the opportunity to introduce their Divan and visiting Dignitaries.


There were nine (9) units present out of 19 active units.  The following units were not present. Al Min Corpus, Al Min Pharr, Alzafar (Kerr Clowns), Arabia (Klassic Klowns), El Maida, El Mina Beaumont, El Mina (Braz Clowns), Karem, Khiva (Amarillo), and Khiva (Lubbock).


Following the roll call of units President Olivares request the reading of the Minutes from the MidwinterMeeting held on March 15, 2008.  A motion was made and seconded to waive the reading of the minutes.  The motion passed by unanimous vote.  Copies of the minutes are posted on the clown web site and can be reviewed at any time.


The next order of business was the reading of the audited treasurers report.  Secretary / Treasurer Bob “Checkers” Mantle read a complete detailed financial summary of the income and expenses of the Association since the mid winter meeting of March 15, 2008.  A motion was made and seconded to except the Treasurers report as read.  The motion carried by unanimous vote.


President Olivares requested Secretary / Treasurer Bob mantle to pull the units to report on any Black Camel Visits that have been made since our mid winter meeting in March.  A roll call of units was given and the following members have passed since the March meeting. 

Bryan “Grapenuts” Gilbert of the Alzafar Nemnuf Clowns.


T.S.C.A. Chaplain Al Gray offered a prayer of remembrance for our deceased member.  The name of our deceased member will be added to our friends remembered list on the clown web site.


President David Olivares invited First Vice President Donald Henson to the podium to introduce his Installing Marshall to install the new officers for the ensuing year 2008-2009.


The Illustrious Potentate of Hella Shrine Center Jim Alford was introduced and installed the following officers to The Texas Shrine Clown Association.


President                                  Don “Lil-Bit” Henson                            Hella   

First Vice President:                  Sam “Lucky” Taylor                             Ben Hur Srekoj Clowns

Second Vice President              Bobby “Ice Bucket” Miller                    Alzafar Nemnuf

Secretary / Treasurer                Bob “Checkers” Mantle                        Hella

Chaplain                                   Richard “Smiley” Bishop                       Arabia Clown Jewels

Parliamentarian                         Eddie “Fireplug” Cox                            Hella

Assemblyman                           Jimmy “Firecracker” Jennings                Sharon

Assemblyman                           John “Boxcar” Barron                           Arabia Klassic Klowns

Assemblyman                           Bill  “10 Can” London                          Moslah


The newly installed President Don “Lil-Bit” Henson was presented his President fez by his lovely Lady Stacy.


Don’s mother Shirley Henson presented Donald a clown hat and a clown cookie jar.


President elect Donald Henson was presented the President gavel from outgoing President David Howie-U” Olivares.


Newly install President Donald Henson presented David Olivares a plaque of appreciation from the Association and congratulated him and the Alzafar Nemnuf clowns for a very successful year.


President Donald Henson assigned the Assemblymen a task to complete by mid winter 2009.  Bill London was made chairman of the Assemblymen.  Each Assemblymen has been assigned 40 tickets valued at $5.00 each for a DVD player. It is a fund raiser for the Red Sneaker Fund.  If all tickets are sold, it will raise $600.00.


Donald also introduce a program for his year, called the traveling trophy award.  A trophy will be given to the clown unit raising the most monies for the red sneaker fund.  The award will be passed on each year at the TSA Breakfast.


President elect Donald “Lil-Bit” Henson thanked the Alzafar Clowns for their help with the clown Breakfast.  Donald then gave a brief overview of the dates and times for the clown mid winter 2009.


The 2009 clown mid winter will be held on February 26 through March 2, 2009.  Mid winter will be held on a four (4) night cruise ship departing out of Galveston, Texas.  Registration forms and cruise information can be found on the clown website.


President Henson recognized all the Past TSCA Presidents in attendance.  A toast was given in there honor for their many years of service.  Those in attendance were:


Barry Johnson 1996-1997

Pete Peters  1997-1998

Bennie Bowers  2001-2002

Eddie Cox 2004-2005

David Olivares 2007-2008


President Donald Henson gave a brief overview of the times and location for competition.  He wished everyone good luck, and reminded everyone to be safe.  The judges meeting for competing units followed the breakfast meeting.


Chaplain Richard Bishop gave the closing benediction.


There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 8:50Am in peace and harmony.



Respectfully submitted,




Bob “Checkers” Mantle

TSCA Secretary / Treasurer