Bennie “Be Bo” Bowers

1332 Zipp Rd. New Braunsfel, Texas 78130





TSCA Breakfast Meeting

June 8, 2001


The Texas Shrine Clown Association held it’s annual breakfast and business meeting at the Hampton Inn & Suites at 1700 Rodeo Drive in Mesquite, Texas.


President Leighton Roddy called the meeting to order at 7:15 AM on June 8, 2001.


 TSCA Chaplin George White gave the invocation.


The pledge of allegiance was lead by TSCA 1st Vice President Jim Fite, followed by the pledge to the Texas flag lead by Past TSCA President Pete Peters.


President Leighton Roddy welcomed everyone to TSA competition and thanked all for attending the clown breakfast.


President Leighton Roddy then introduced the TSCA Officers and their ladies.


Special recognition was extended to Hella Temple Potentate and Texas Shrine Association President Roger Nelson and his Lady Sally.


Also in attendance were Past Potentate and 2001 T.S.A. Director General Don Moore and his lady Pat.

Past Potentate and T.S.A. Secretary Treasurer Larry Winkle and his lady Lucretia.


Following the recognition of T.S.A. dignitaries President Leighton Roddy requested T.S.C.A. Secretary

Treasurer Bob Mantle to conduct a roll call of all T.S.C.A. units.  Each unit was asked to introduce their Divan Members and unit officers present.   Seven TSCA units out of eighteen units were represented.

Those represented were Alzafar-San Antonio, Ben Hur, El Maida El Paso, Hella, Moslah, Sharon, and

Suez of Abliene.  Those without representation were Alamim-corpus, Alamim of Pharr. Alzafar of Kerrville, Arabia Houston, Arabia Bay City, El mina Beaumont, El mina Galveston, Karem Waco, Khiva Amarillo, Khiva Lubbock, and Maskat Wichita Falls.


Following roll call of units President Leighton Roddy called the meeting to break for breakfast and fellowship.


Following breakfast President Leighton Roddy called the meeting back to order.


President Leighton Roddy requested Secretary Treasurer Bob Mantle to read the minutes of our Mid-Winter meeting of March 10, 2001.  A motion was made by Past TSCA President Mike Coffey to waive the reading of the minutes; Randell Dunn seconded the motion and the motion carried by show of hands. President Leighton Roddy then requested the reading of the treasury report since our March 10th meeting.  A motion was made by Past President Pete Peters to dispense with the reading of the report and accept the report as it is written.  The motion was seconded by Past TSCA President Joe Cole.  The motion carried by unanimous vote.













Bennie Bowers-Alzafar


1st Vice President

Jim Fite-Sharon


2nd Vice President

George White-Moslah



Bob Mantle - Hella



Al Gray-Alzafar



Randall Dunn - Hella



Jim Ford III - Alzafar

Vern King - Arabia

Barney Johnson-Suez


Past Presidents and

Board of Directors


‘60-’61 Barney Koepp-BEN HUR*

‘61-’62 Max O. Slade-BEN HUR*

‘62-’63 Jack Walders-KHIVA*

‘63-’64 Fred Stancliff Sr.-ARABIA*

‘64-’65 Clint McKethan-KAREM

‘65-’66 Ralph L. Davis-SHARON

‘66-’67 L. Troy Woerner-HELLA*

‘67-’68 L. Ed Travis-ALZAFAR

‘68-’69 Al E. Peveto-EL MINA

‘69-’70 Harold Bristol-MASKAT

‘70-’71 J.R. Brady-MOSLAH

‘71-’72 Cecil Gilum-SUEZ

‘72-’73 Alvin H. Jones-BEN HUR

‘73-’74 Porter Ridlehuber-KAREM*

‘74-’75 Bill Coffey-ALZAFAR*

‘75-’76 C. L. Osborn-ARABIA

‘76-’77 J. H. Armstrong-EL MINA

‘77-’78 John W. Brown-SHARON*

‘78-’79 J. Tom Shelton-MOSLAH

‘79-’80 W. C. Watts-EL MINA*

‘80-’81 Eddie Jones-BEN HUR

‘81-’82 Marion Moore-KHIVA*

‘82-’83 Joe Gulinson-ALZAFAR*

‘83-’84 John S. Gordon-ARABIA

‘84-’85 Homer Kennedy-SHARON

‘85-’86 Dale Kell-SUEZ

‘86-’87 Randell Dunn-HELLA

‘87-’88 James Blackburn-EL MINA

‘88-’89 Coy Hart-MOSLAH

‘89-’90 Joe Cole-BEN HUR

‘90-’91 Gordon Williams-ALZAFAR

‘91-’92 Floyd Crawley-SHARON

‘92-’93 Don Billings-ARABIA

‘93-’94 Mike Coffey-ALZAFAR

‘94-’95 Bill Arrendale-BEN HUR

‘95-’96 Kenny Williams-KAREM

‘96-’97 Barney Johnson-SUEZ

‘97-’98 Pete Peters-SHARON

‘98-’99 Dennis Greenawald-Hella

Wesley Henson*

‘99-’00 Butch Davis-Al Amin

2000-2001 H. Leighton Roddy-Moslah





Bob Mantle was asked to give a Black Camel report of all deceased members since our March meeting.  The following

names were read.  Irvin “Bubbles” Schwartz of Alzafar San Antonio, Jack “Scooter” Elston and Bob Monger of

Moslah Clowns Fort Worth.  Chaplin George White offered a prayer in commemoration of our deceased brethren.


The Moslah Clown unit made a donation of $8,500 to the sneaker fund. Bill London President of the Moslah Clowns

made the presentation to ISCA President and TSCA Past President Joe Cole.  The Moslah Clown Unit has donated

$13,600 to the sneaker fund over the past two years.


A motion was made by Randell Dunn to pay our web master Barry Lucas and our web site host Douglas King

$100.00 each for the great job they are doing on the TSCA web site.  Joe Cole seconded the motion and it

passed by unanimous vote.


Carl Jones passed the hat during the breakfast and collected $100.00 for the sneaker fund.  The money was

given to Joe Cole.


President Leighton Roddy called all the past presidents of the association up front and introduced each of them.


Those in attendance were:


1986-87-----Randell Dunn

1989-90-----Joe Cole

1993-94-----Mike Coffey

1996-97-----Barney Johnson

1997-98-----Pete Peters

1999-2000--Butch Davis


Joe Cole gave a brief overview of the Texas Shrine Clown Association.  Joe stated the association was formed

41 years ago by members of the Ben Hur Clown Unit Barney Koepp and Max Slade.  “Joe said the association

has a lot of history and traditions” and that today’s members are carrying on some family traditions.


President Leighton Roddy thanked his Moslah Clown unit for all their support during his year as President

of the association.  Leighton made special thanks to his lady Ellen for her support and hard work throughout

the year.


President Leighton Roddy then invited J. Phillip Knight Sheen Chief Rabban of Alzafar Temple to the podium

to install the officers for the ensuing year.  Wayne Duncan Assistant Rabban of Alzafar Temple was asked to

assist in the installation.  The following officers were installed.


President - Benny Bowers - Alzafar

1st Vice President - Jim Fite - Sharon

2nd Vice President - George White - Moslah

Secretary/Treasurer - Bob Mantle - Hella

Chaplain - Al Gray - Alzafar

Parliamentarian - Randell Dunn - Hella

Assemblyman - James Ford III - Alzafar

Assemblyman - Vern King - Arabia

Assemblyman - Barney Johnson - Suez


Passing of the gavel was given to incoming President Bennie Bowers.


Wayne Duncan Assistant Rabban of Alzafar Temple presented the incoming officers their fez’s.


President Bennie Bowers presented outgoing president Leighton Roddy a gavel plaque for his outstanding

service to the association through-out the year.


Newly elected president Bennie Bowers gave a brief overview of his plans for mid-winter which will be

held in San Antonio in March 2002.  He said things are coming together well and hopes everyone will

make plans on coming to San Antonio.


George White gave the benediction.


There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 8:45 AM in peace and harmony.



Respectfully submitted,

Bob Mantle






ALAMIN       ALZAFAR     ARABIA       BEN HUR     EL MAIDA    EL MINA      HELLA         KAREM        KHIVA        MASKAT      MOSLAH      SHARON      SUEZ

Corpus Christi  San Antonio     Houston           Austin               El Paso             Beaumont        Dallas              Waco                Amarillo           Wichita Falls   Fort Worth                               Tyler                Abliene

                        Pharr                          Kerrville      Bay City                                                         Galveston                                                     Lubbock                                                                                      


Visit our web site at: